2018 Alliance Expo and Annual Meeting

April 24 - 25, 2018 Wichita Falls

A. D. Koen

Public Relations Specialist


A. D. Koen is an independent energy communications consultant based in Houston, where he provides confidential public relations, public affairs, media relations, editorial, and issue management services and counsel for a portfolio of domestic and international companies. He has served the Texas Alliance of Energy Producers as a public relations specialist since January 2002.
Koen spent more than two decades as a writer and editor for several leading oil and gas industry trade publications, in which capacities he authored news stories and feature articles about upstream, midstream and downstream oil and gas activities around the world, including exploration and development highlights, business and industry trends, and regulatory and legislative developments, before leaving journalism at the end of 1999 to begin a career in energy communications.
From June 1980 to August 1986, he worked for The American Oil & Gas Reporter magazine, where he rose to Assistant Managing Editor before leaving to work as a Freelance Business Writer and Photographer and Communications Services Provider.
In 1990, Koen moved to Houston to join the staff of the Oil & Gas Journal as Gulf of Mexico News Editor, Koen left OGJ as Senior News Editor in September 1996 to help launch Upstream, a groundbreaking weekly international oil and gas business tabloid based in Oslo, Norway.
Koen relinquished his position as Upstream’s Senior Correspondent in Houston in January 2000 to join the Hill & Knowlton public relations company as a Senior Account Supervisor. He left H&K in April 2001 to begin providing public relations and media relations services as an independent consultant.
Koen holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in American History from Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas. He also has completed requirements for a B.A. in Print Journalism at Wichita State University and attended one semester of graduate school in East Asian Studies at the University of Kansas.